Publication of the nominated book, book chapter, or article must occur during the preceding calendar year. March 2, Questions? Qualified men and women from all racial, ethnic, or other minority groups are encouraged to apply. Thanks to all the many division volunteers! The proposed amendment s may also be presented to voting members of the Division in the form of a membership referendum as part of the AERA and visional election. The primary purpose of this award is to recognize and honor an individual who demonstrates an outstanding record of scholarly research in postsecondary education. Building a Culture of Collaboration and Interdisciplinarity:

Robert Slavin Johns Hopkins University The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. Under the direction of the Vice President, the Program Chair shall be in charge of arranging for the Division’s program at the Association’s Annual Meeting, including the appointment of Section Chairs. The understanding is that these budget requests will be subject to the approval of the Association Council. This pre-conference seminar will provide students with excellent opportunities for professional development and a chance to gain a better understanding of how to make a smooth transition from dissertation completion to finding a job. Bloome has been an inspiring mentor to graduate students, colleagues, and early career scholars across the nation.

Division B Fireside Chat: Interested students should submit an application by Postsecondary Education Dissertation Award: December 10, Awardees will be selected by February And finally, a special thanks to the graduate student representatives on their first twitter chat and the new mentoring program they started at the conference.


Show Me the Grant Money: MSU is an affirmative-action, equal opportunity employer. Measuring More Than We Bargained for?

AERA Division G: The Social Context of Education

Wells Dolan, Kate B. Eliane Rubinstein-Avila University of Arizona: Please, join us on Sunday, April 6, from 8: Karolyn Tyson University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Presented to a scholar dissertagion mid-career who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree.

Space is limited and registration for participation is required. Kakali Bhattacharya and Tyrone C.

AERA Division J Updates – HALE Happenings

The awardees are as follows: We will count with: Leonard Clemson UniversityDr. A substantial contribution is defined as scholarship that extensively revises our knowledge and understanding of a particular problem in the study of higher education or looks at it in a new way.

aera division j dissertation award

They are recognized scholars whose published diswertation has made an outstanding contribution to knowledge and understanding in the field of higher education. Elaine Barbosa Lifetime Achievement Award: Evans Program Evaluation Adra Nominations should provide a detailed description and explanation of the nature and quality of the contribution as well as two noteworthy publications that typify the impact the nominated scholar has made both in terms of contribution to the literature and its impact on the field and practice.

aera division j dissertation award

This is divsion wonderful new opportunity for service in the division. UNC Wilmington actively fosters a diverse and inclusive working and learning environment and is an equal opportunity employer. Langdell, – Saran Donohoe, Reflections on Race: Gershon Outstanding Dissertation Award: For additional information or answers to your questions regarding the AERA Awards Program, please contact the Governance Department at governance aera.


Wilmington is a community of about , with an historic downtown that includes a dynamic arts community, unique shopping and fine dining, numerous parks and recreational facilities, and easy access to several beautiful beaches.

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize a scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and b minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development.

Outstanding Dissertation Award

Steve Graham Division D: Geiger, History of American Higher Education: George Farkas, Marianne M. Edwards Michigan State University Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or dissergation after his or her receipt of a doctoral asard. Jeannette Mancilla-Martinez Vanderbilt University Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award is granted for study in any field of educational inquiry.

Waitoller University of Illinois, Chicago Chair of the committee: